Birth of a Quilt

July was my month to be the quilter for the Peace circle of do. Good Stitches.

 I wanted to make a quilt that an older boy could love.  So I scoured Design Seeds in search of a palette that would work.  After consulting with all the boys in my house, I settled on navy, aqua, yellow, khaki, & some brown.  Then I made an inspiration mosaic, in order to convince myself that this palette was going to work!  I asked my fellow bee-mates to use the Rectangle Squared Tutorial.

 July mailEveryday in July I eagerly awaited the mailman’s delivery of my packages!

blocks for julyLook at all these lovely blocks!  Good job ladies!

block layoutI couldn’t wait to start working on the layout.

rectangle squared quilt topA complete quilt top!

quilt backThe back.  (Never mind the crazy-tan-lined feet!)

I basted this quilt & had to let it sit for longer than I would have liked. :(

finished quiltLife has been insanely busy, so I didn’t have time to consider the quilting too much.  I would have liked to have done something more interesting but I also needed to get it done!  I got a new sewing machine last week (Janome Memory Craft 6600) & immediately tried some easy straight line quilting on this.  My old machine couldn’t do free-motion quilting (it could barely do straight line quilting!), so I will practice that & hopefully my next quilt will be FMQ’d!

rectangle squared quilt doneAll crinkly after washing!

back of rectangle squared quilt I decided after looking at this picture, that a small strip of teal (like the binding) around the white would look great!  It would really make things stand out.  Oh well.  There’s always next time!

favorite blockThis is one of my favorite blocks.  I think I may have to do another project with navy, aqua, & yellow soon!

Our group donates the quilts we make to My Very Own Blanket a charity that gives blankets to kids in foster care.  I hope this quilt is well-loved & gives some sweet child some comfort during the ups & downs of life.

5 thoughts on “Birth of a Quilt

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

