Mom’s Quilt Finished! (& other projects)

The front

The back

Yay! I finished Mom’s quilt!  I love everything about it, except the quilting.  My plan at the start, was to just do some straight line quilting vertically about an inch apart.  When I tried that, I found that my blocks were being pulled all wonky & looked terrible.  So I pulled out 4 lines of quilting & re-basted the whole quilt.  Then I ended up quilting each block randomly.  It ended up having some lumpy spots and isn’t as densely quilted as I wanted it.

The binding added so much interest to the whole quilt, I just love it!  That simple little stripe just pulls everything together so nicely.

The back also turned out better than I thought it would.  At first I had the blue, gray, & the print laid out, then I put some leftover white from the sashing in there & I knew that was what I was looking for.

I can’t wait to give this to my parents!

Close up of the back of Mom's Quilt

One of my favorite blocks

Another favorite block. Notice the binding...

The fabrics I used for this quilt are:

Kona cotton solids in; dusty blue, ash, butter, and others pulled from a Bright jelly roll & a Classic jelly roll

Sashing: Kona cotton in White

Back: Nicey Jane by Heather Bailey Lindy Leaf in Blue

Binding: Timber by Jessica Levitt

Size: 56.5 in x 65.5 in

Reversible cow-girl vest

I made one of my nieces a cow-girl vest for Christmas.  She has been into Jessie from Toy Story lately, so I thought she might like to play dress-up & “be” Jessie.  So here she is in her cow-girl costume…. she wore it most of the time we were all together.  I think she liked it!  I used the free pattern here.

My Temporary work area

I set up another temporary work area in order to finish Mom’s quilt.  This is in my living room so it’s not the best spot.  However, it is my favorite place to work because I don’t feel like I’m hiding from my family!  This is where I would choose to do all my sewing.  Maybe we need to add-on a sewing room off the Living room…

Hope you all enjoyed your weekend!

One thought on “Mom’s Quilt Finished! (& other projects)

  1. Beautiful!! I am always so impressed with people who can sew…I have tried a few times and am just BAD at it. Your parents will cherish this! 🙂

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

