My Two Cents

So after reading Rachel’s post (the comments are worth a read) regarding things we keep to ourselves & how we feel about this whole quilty online community of ours, I have been doing some thinking.  Here are some of my thoughts:

  • I don’t like all the consumerism going on.  (it sounds like I’m not the only one)  I mean, we all need to make a living but I want to read blog posts about the creative process, not about your sponsor’s newest line of fabric.  I think it’s great if you want to make things & sell them but the sponsored blogs are just getting so old.  If you have a giveaway, don’t make me jump through 5 hoops to enter.
  • I really don’t care if something is “modern” or “traditional”.  What matters to me is if I like it.  I tend to like things I think look more modern.  But maybe it’s just “current”.  Maybe it’s “bright & fun”.  I like a lot of the traditional patterns just with brighter fabrics.  I think my beef with “traditional” is that it is so pattern dependent.  It sucks the creativity out of me.  There is no room to do your own thing.  Because it’s “wrong” if you break free from the pattern.  Although I don’t really love “improv” quilting, which is really “modern”.  It looks unplanned & messy to me most of the time.  Also the whole “dumbing down of quilting” debate is ridiculous.  No one is dumbing it down.  Yes some people make simple quilts.  They are still a beautiful work of art.  Just let people make what they want to.  If you don’t care for it, that ‘s fine.  We are all entitled to an opinion.  Not everyone has the skill, patience, desire, or time, to make a quilt with hundreds of HST’s or flying geese.
  • I just want everyone to feel inspired to try.  I felt terrible when some people were saying that they were discouraged after reading some blogs.  Or that they would never be “good enough” so why try.  That kills me!  If you see something online that you like & want to make something like it, do it!  You can!  If you don’t know how, ask.  Look it up.  You CAN do it!  If someone else can do it so can you.  Especially if you want to.  🙂  Don’t get discouraged because someone else is “better” than you.  Everyone started somewhere.  No one’s first projects were perfect, in fact I bet everyone can point out the flaws in EVERYTHING they make.  Just be proud of what you can do & if you want to get better, practice!  Learn a new technique, talk to people, join a quilt guild, get a few books from the library.  Flickr is a GREAT source of inspiration & information.  This is NOT rocket science.  It takes practice & determination, but not much more.  You CAN do it!

I keep asking myself why I started this blog….  Here’s my answer.  I love to craft.  Not just quilts, although that is my passion right now, but anything that allows my creative juices to flow a little.   I love being a Mom, but making things really helps me feel like me.  I’m more than just Mom, wife, housekeeper.  I am Naomi: Quilter, Knitter, Maker.  When I had my heart surgery I realized that a long life is not guaranteed.  I would like to enjoy the moments I have here & maybe leave some things behind that will remind my kids of me.  Every stitch I sew or knit is made with love so my love is literally sewn (knit) in to everything I make.  I hope that my love is felt each time something I make is used.  So the reasons I started this blog are:

  1. To share the things I make because it’s always more fun when you share.
  2. To give myself motivation to continue working on a project because I can tend to move on to the next thing before I finish the first thing.
  3. To make some friends who feel the passion I feel for quilting.  (I have lots of knitting friends, but a few more of those would never be a bad thing.)
  4. To join in.  All too often I stay out of the conversation.  I run after the kids, I let myself  be distracted, I smile & nod.  I don’t have the confidence I should have.  I think it’s incredibly hard to meet new people, it takes me a ridiculously long time to warm up to new things, by the time I’m comfortable the opportunity to join in is over.  I just want to have a voice.
  5. To hopefully encourage new quilters to give it a try!  It really isn’t hard.  You don’t need fancy, expensive machines.  You don’t need to go into debt just for designer fabric.  I sew with a 1970’s model Singer.  I want a new machine so bad, but the one I have works & does most of what I want it to.  When I can save up enough I will buy myself a nice machine but that doesn’t mean I will be able to make better things.  I think if you’re going to spend money on something, let it be fabric.  Good quality fabric really does make a difference, but find sales.  Honestly, no one needs to spend $10 a yard on something you can find on sale for half that price.  The bottom line is, do what you can.  If you’re on a budget, buy what feels good.  If it feels thin & cheap at the store, don’t buy it, it will be a waste of money, no matter how cheap it was.

So that’s what I have for tonight.  I haven’t been sewing because I’ve been working!  (If you are actually reading this & don’t know me, I am a stay-at-home Mom most of the time, but also have a casual job as a Surgical Technologist.  That means when the surgeon says “Scalpel” I am the one who hands it to him.  Except they really don’t say scalpel in real life.  They say knife.)

I will leave you with some pictures of my cute kiddos.

my son with his bowThis is T (he’s 5) with his new bow.  He is so happy that the Easter bunny gave him this!  This was his own pose by the way.  He went down on one knee because I was bending down to get a better shot of him.  I love when kids do that!

my son with hiw new wandHere is W (he’s 8.) with his real Harry Potter wand.  It is seriously heavy & way better than the plastic one he had before.  He spent some time trying every spell he could think of.  He was disappointed that it didn’t work.  I told him he must be a muggle.  He thought it might be because he wasn’t really old enough yet.  Because you have to be 11 to go to Hogwarts. 🙂

dying eggsWhat a mess… Why are there 12 different colors of dye in one box?  If I would have been using my brain I would have saved some for next year.  How many eggs do most people dye?  We did 12.  That was enough.

easter morningEaster morning

It looked frostier, but I was in too much of a rush to try make the picture turn out right.  It was gorgeous.  Hope everyone had a wonderful Easter!

5 thoughts on “My Two Cents

  1. There are so many points I want to comment on, but I will limit it. I don’t quilt but I LOVE that you are encouraging people to try it even if they are hesitatant for one reason or another. I feel the same way about knitting. I have so many people who see my projects and immediately declare that they couldn’t ever do that…”why not?” I want to ask. I also LOVE that you are knitting to leave some of your love behind. I have never thought about it like that before but as much as I love gifting my knitting to others I must feel that as well. I love that Will is as obsessed with Harry Potter as I am – so sweet! Cute picture of T. Okay…I’m cutting myself off. 🙂 Great entry!

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

