Summer fun

Hi!

So time has gotten away from me a little…  I haven’t been sewing much lately because I have had company.  My nieces from Iowa & my in-laws came to spend some time with us!  We had plenty of fun, maybe a little too much fun!  We showed the girls a grand old-time.  I’m sure they will be begging to come visit again soon!

We spent some time at the park, the pool, Como zoo, the arboretum, & the wildlife refuge.  We slept in a tent, had s’mores, planted flowers, made muffins & pancakes & french toast, tried out knitting,  had a splashy good time in the back yard, & the kids all had a great time playing with their cousins!

pool timePool time!

pig tailsI did A’s hair!  I love her naturally curly hair!  She let me fix it many times while she was here.  🙂

fountainThe girls playing in the fountain at Como.

koi pondWatching the fish!  I thought L was going to try to grab one!

four kidsOne of the better pictures I got of all four kids together. (T’s lips are all blue from the Sonic the Hedgehog ice cream treat he had earlier.)

learning about eaglesWe went to the wildlife refuge.  Here we are reading about what eagles eat.

We saw:

Eagles & their nest, Canadian geese, a Swan, ducks, lots of deer flies & mosquitos,  other birds & lots of pretty flowers.

We usually see more wildlife, but it was pretty hot, so I’m assuming they were somewhere trying to stay cool.

kids picking the tent siteA & T were showing me where they wanted to set up the tent.

eating s'moresThe girls hadn’t tried S’mores before.  They can’t say that anymore!!

kids in tentLast night at Auntie & Uncle’s house…

We slept in the tent to give A her first experience sleeping outside!  She loved it!  I’m so glad we didn’t do it the night before because it stormed REALLY hard!

It was wonderful spending so much time with A&L!  The last time we saw them was at Christmas, so I hope next time isn’t such a long time!

kona cottons for summer samplerThis is the fabric I’m using for the Summer Sampler Series Quilt Along.

summer sampler blocksHere are my first two blocks! I love the fabrics all stacked up together but I’m seeing ketchup & mustard when I put the blocks together so far…  But I guess ketchup & mustard is summery!  🙂

I was hoping to buy my new sewing machine  & start re-doing the kid’s bedroom this week, but my husband lost his job on Tuesday.  😦 So I will be holding off on all extra expenses until he is employed again!

So cross your fingers & toes & hope that he finds a job he loves soon!  If you know of any great Mechanical Engineering jobs out there, let me know.

One thought on “Summer fun

  1. Cute pictures of your boys and their cousins! Looks like you had a great time. I’m sorry to hear that B lost his job. I am crossing everything I have for him. Keep us posted!

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

