Halloween Pillow

So I had this cute Riley Blake Halloween panel (that I got in a scrap bag, holla!!) sitting around my sweet, new crafting area,  (I need to come up with a better name for my crafting area…  craft nook? sewing corner? Got any ideas people??) & my youngest child saw it.  On Sunday, we were all home not feeling our best, (sore throats, headaches, blah feeling) when he started asking me to do this or that with him.  I felt yucky, so kept saying no & feeling bad about it.  He suddenly had a light-bulb moment & asked if I felt good enough to sew!  Then he proceeded to tell me he REALLY wanted me to make him a new quilt with the Halloween fabric I had!  How could I say No to that?! So, I talked him down to a pillow.  I just didn’t have it in me to start another quilt right now since I feel guilty enough about the ones I haven’t finished yet.  We talked about how it should look & what we could really do with what little bit of fabric we had.  I drew out my plan for him, got approval,  & got started.

I should have taken more pictures but, remember, I felt yucky.

I did my first REAL free motion quilting! Here’s a look from the back side…

free motion quilting

I was amazed at how well the quilting went!  I mean, it won’t win any awards or anything but, I got the job done without any real problems.  Yes, my stitch length needs some practice & I made a few bumpy spots where I wasn’t planning bumps.  I was trying to make the quilting look like topography.  It was a very forgiving way to quilt!  I got the idea here.  I am so in love with my new sewing machine!!  (Janome Memory Craft 6600)

Anyway…this is how it turned out!  My son loves it! My favorite part is the black & white circle print on the edges.  It’s like the ghost is saying “oooooooooo!!!!

Halloween pillow

Happy Halloween to all of you!

3 thoughts on “Halloween Pillow

  1. Cute Naomi! Sure turned out nice for you feeling yucky! That has been going around. I had if for a few days too. Bleh. Love, Ma

  2. So Cool!!! I live the way you quilted this…I was thinking it looked like ripples in a pond a little bit. Cute, cute pillow!

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

