Halloween 2011

Halloween seemed to last WAY too long this year.  We had a Cub Scout party, a parade for T, school party for W, a field trip to the pumpkin patch for T, & of course Trick-or-Treating.  It was a whole week of celebrating Fall.

Don’t get me wrong, it was fun, just a little much.

bat polka dot and ghost pumpkin

We carved pumpkins the day before Halloween.  T & Daddy-o carved the batty bat.  I used the drill for the polka-dots.  W drew the ghost & cut most of it on his own!  I helped him a little but he did the lion’s share of the work.  I was so proud of him!  He is really growing up & becoming so independent this year!

ghost pumpkin

bat pumpkin

kids halloween costumesThis year T got to watch the Star Wars movies so he decided to be Han Solo.  No one knew who he was…  Does that mean I did a bad job on the costume??  He really loved it so I guess that is what matters most.

I made him a vest out of flannel (because I didn’t have time to go to the store & get anything else…) from the cute tutorial here.

I also made him brown flannel pants (pajama pants) from Simplicity #9499.  I have made them a few times before & my boys love them.  I have made the shirt from the pattern too & it turns out so cute & comfy!  They are W’s favorite sleep shirts!

He wore W’s white button-down shirt, W’s black mud boots, a belt, & a holster with a real-looking cap gun.  I offered to make him a more authentic looking Han Solo shirt but he was sure that W’s shirt was what he wanted.

Last year W was Harry Potter & he decided last year to be Dumbledore for this year.  I didn’t have it in me to make him a costume, so I ordered it.  He was thrilled with it & the costume cost me less than it would have to make it, so I was thrilled too!  He wore his full costume to the Cub Scout party & won 3rd prize!  The wig & beard proved to be a HUGE hassle, so he decided not to wear it to his school party.  I found a cute tutorial for a beard & mustache made out of felt & whipped it up the night before he needed it.  (I actually stayed up looking at Pinterest, then as I was headed up to bed realized I forgot to make the beard!!  Bad Mom!  Luckily it went really quick.)  I also made him a wig out of thin polar fleece.  Not my finest work but it was quick & he liked it so I don’t feel too bad.

alternate beard and mustache and wig(This is T modeling it since I don’t have any pictures with W.)

I did a lousy job taking pictures.  I usually do some inside, you know, with light… I was convinced my pictures would turn out in the half-darkness I was attempting to capture.  Oh well.  Maybe I should take a photography class soon.

Hope you are all enjoying Fall!

2 thoughts on “Halloween 2011

  1. Ahhhh Han Solo! Yes! He looks exactly like him I just couldn’t place it. And the wizard was awesome too. Tillie went as a bum. 🙂

  2. Fun costumes! I love your polka dot pumpkin ~ what a fun idea. I agree Halloween went on for ages this year. Glad we can be done with it for a whole year.

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

