Echo Block

The other night I did some sketching.  I don’t feel like I’m overly creative when it comes to making up my own stuff.  As soon as I was done coloring this one, I got excited.  I wanted to see what a whole quilt like this would look like.  So I drew a few more blocks.  My son looked over my shoulder & told me they were cool (in the voice that means he really means it, not the one where he’s just being nice) & I decided I should give this block a shot.

sketch

I’m doing the 4×5 Modern Quilt Bee again & want to make some gorgeous blocks again.  I’m not sure much will live up to the ones I did last time, but I will try.

echo blockWhat do you think?  The problem with this is that it is VERY apparent when things don’t line up EXACTLY.  I’m not sure how much it matters, in the long run, but I would like things to look a little more, you know, perfect.

sketch of quilt blocks(Ignore the upper left sketch…)

This is how they would all fit together in a quilt. You can see the plus sign & the square would become apparent.  I bet it would be cool.  I also don’t know if I would have the patience to complete an entire quilt like this.  Each colored strip finishes at 1″ wide.  Maybe I could make it bigger for a whole quilt….  ideas, ideas…

So what do you think?  Should I make 5 more like this (in the right colors of course), or try something different?  Should I attempt to make an entire quilt like this?  Is it totally ugly?  Be honest, I can take it.

3 thoughts on “Echo Block

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

