Reality Vs. Fantasy

I had a rough day yesterday.  I’ve been reading a lot of blogs lately that show these amazing women doing it all.  Beautiful, clean, decorated homes, gorgeous quilts, baking, being published, raising kids… Usually, I find the peeks into their “lives” motivating.  Yesterday, I found it all overwhelming.

How on earth can I keep up?  My house is a mess, the dishes aren’t done, there’s a pile of laundry waiting to be put away, I don’t have dinner planned for tonight let alone the next week or month, I’m in my pajamas until noon, I haven’t touched my sewing machine for 2 weeks…

Don’t even get me started on my “goals” for myself.  I am nowhere near where I want to be “professionally”.  (By professionally I mean, the sewing/quilting/knitting career I have in the back of my mind, that I haven’t done much about starting.) I have so many thoughts on what I would like to do someday, but then realize that my life would be turned upside down by a lot of my plans.  I’m just not sure what’s realistic for me.

So, I spent a while talking my husband’s ear off about how inadequate I feel.  I realized, I can’t compare myself to these other women.  I just can’t.  They aren’t me.  I am not them.  I have no idea how happy they are, how much money they make, how clean their homes are day-to-day, how in control they REALLY feel.  Most bloggers share the positive & keep the negative to themselves & I think that’s okay.

Sometimes, you just need a reality check.

Then, this morning I read this blog post & just smiled.  It illustrates my point, exactly.  Just because you see perfection all over the blogosphere, does not mean it’s reality.  These women have messy homes, they lose sleep over deadlines, they don’t make a home-cooked meal every night, they feel the pressure to succeed, they are insecure, they feel inadequate, they are not perfect.

And neither am I.

3 thoughts on “Reality Vs. Fantasy

  1. I heart you sister! Of course they aren’t perfect you are only seeing what they want you to see in their blogs. If it makes you feel better I frequently think you must have it all figured out and I am the one feeling inadequate. Love you!

    • I’m with S…I look at you and think you have it all together and I wish I did too. I’m gone from the house nearly 12 hours a day. By the time I get the kids picked up and fed dinner and help them with homework I’m beat…my house is ALWAYS a mess. The only reason I get anything crafty done right now is because work is slow and I knit at my desk. Be happy and don’t stress, no one’s life is perfect. 🙂

  2. EXACTLY!!
    FYI: I feel like I’m in that same place. So many dreams, so unsure of how to tackle them, I kind of keep putting them on the back burner. I say that life is the reason, it’s darn busy.. but really – I think maybe it’s a little bit intimidation, uncertainty, and procrastination.
    Blogland can be very overwhelming. I used to follow a phenomenal wedding photographer from Utah. She has the most outstanding of equipment & the most gorgeous backgrounds & subjects a person could ever dream of. I wasted so much time drooling over her photos. Then I read that she used to do the same thing. And stopped. She realized – her photos weren’t going to be like there’s because SHE was SHE and THEY were THEY. (I’m summarizing in my own words, as I don’t really recall hers.)
    Anyway, she said she found that seeing their work intimidated her & she stopped following photography blogs. So – sad but true – one day I stopped following hers’.
    (it wasn’t a life or personal blog.. there was nothing there to “follow” in the way of a story line or keeping up with the family, etc.)
    I don’t even want to DO weddings. Why was I spending all that time looking at her wedding photography blog? So I cut back, and I keep up with real people blogs that make me smile.
    Of course, I find beautiful photos & clever craft projects totally inspiring most of the time. But too much, too much without the dose of reality throws off my balance.
    extra FYI: days when I don’t have to leave home – I’m in my pj’s or sweats ALL DAY. 🙂

    Ok, I was actually just going to comment with the word “EXACTLY.” That really would have been sufficient. 🙂

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

