WIP Wednesday 1.11.2012

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Wow… this week went fast.  My 6 year-old has been sick since Sunday, so I suppose that’s where most of that time has gone.  I have found only small bits here & there to sew.  I am hoping this week holds more quality time for Betty & me.  (I have decided my sewing machine’s name is Betty.  She works hard, she’s a sweaty Betty.)  So, here is this week’s list…

Finished:

ring of stars

December do. Good Stitches blocks- Last week I had one done, I finished the second one & got them sent off this week!

In Progress:

Christmas Quilt- 12 blocks finished this week! 16 blocks left!

new deskNew desk-  Excuse the mess!  I went to some shops in my small town & found this desk for a reasonable price.  I am so happy to have my laptop off my cutting table!  I haven’t gotten it all organized yet because the drawers smell yucky & I don’t want to put anything in them until I get rid of the smell.  Any ideas??  I have wiped them out & have baking soda sitting in them right now.

doll bibs, diapers, and diaper bagDoll accessories for L’s Birthday-  My niece turned 3 this week!  I have decided to make her some doll accessories.  I am making a diaper bag from the Child’s Messenger Bag pattern from One Yard Wonders, bibs from this tutorial, & diapers from this tutorial.  I really hope she loves & uses the things I am making for her! 

swoon fabric options

swoon fabricFabrics for Swoon-along-  I joined a quilt along.  I didn’t mean to, I just HAD to!  It’s the Swoon-along .  I mean, how could I resist? I had the idea to use Heath (the black cross hatched fabric) for the background.  Now I can’t give it up.  I LOVE the idea!  I just haven’t figured out what else to use… (I chose the bottom pile in the dark one night while we were watching a movie…  I think I might love it!)

No Progress:

Senja’s Quilt

Cut-Loose Quilt

Orange Triangles

Machine cover

Summer Sampler

Completed Tops Awaiting Quilting:

Sliced Coins

Boys x 2

To Do:

December ring of stars block

January star blocks

Quilt for my bed

Shower curtain

Pin cushion for me

 Head over to Lee’s Blog, Freshly Pieced, to see what everyone else is working on!

5 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday 1.11.2012

  1. Hi Naomi! I like your new desk! I’ve had the same problem with items I’ve purchased and I’ve used baking soda which does help but mostly it takes time! I leave drawers out for several days and let the air and baking soda do the work. Your December blocks look so nice!

  2. It is so fun to get a new piece of furniture it can change to much! Looks like you are busy – lots of crafts in the works. Your Dec. squares are very nice! Love the stars (as always!)

  3. Try coffee grounds inside the drawers for awhile. I have had dressers like that. It took cleaning, airing out, and several different things and time before the stinky smell was gone.

    The fabric for the bottom quilt looks COOL.

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

